women-756854_1920Everyone loves leather jackets. They’re actually more environmentally friendly than plastic winter jackets, and they last for a long time. They stretch, adjusting to you and look stylish all that time. Recently I talked about how to care about leather jackets. And now I want to share some more tips on how to clean and wash them!

First of all, read the tag. If your leather jacket is genuine, it probably came with a tag describing how to clean it. Some even might come as small booklets or instruction manuals. There are many varieties of leather and some might be very specific, so it’s very important you learn what are the specifics of your garment. While I hope that the advice below will apply to everyone, I can’t give you no guarantee that you’ll have to maintain that jacket just as well as any other leather apparel.

I personally start cleaning my leather jacket with a good dust-off, when I take it out from my wardrobe after the summer. I use a simple dry cloth. Though, there are some people who like to use gentle brushes like camel or badger hair. Actually, dust soaks into the leather to a certain extent, protecting it. So, after the first cleaning, I drop a single droplet of water onto it. If it absorbs, darkening the leather, it’s not protected enough. If it stays, like in a frying pan, I know I can wipe my dusted-off jacket with a damp cotton cloth. Stains are best removed with a dedicated cleaning product – it’s best to ask around in the store where you got the jacket.

harley-513439_1920It hasn’t ever happened to me, but sometimes a leather jacket can be covered in mold, looking like gray or white fuzz! Don’t throw it away; you can take it to specialized cleaner or try to clean it out yourself, with a 50% solution of water and rubbing alcohol. Wipe off the mold using a cotton cloth dampened with this mixture. And if that won’t work, you can try mild anti-bacterial soap mixed with water.

Suede is a bit specific – clean it with a specialized brush or a dry sponge. You can expose the suede to some steam – but not directly. Hang it in a steamy bathroom or kitchen, for example. Don’t apply the steam directly, like over the kettle nor apply steam from the iron, as heat can cause damage to suede. Stains from suede are best removed using the so-called “artist’s eraser” or art gum eraser. This is a putty-like substance which crumbles apart when used.

I hope you’ve taken out most of your winter jackets and prepare yourself for the winter ahead. Here you can find some more tips on cleaning outerwear – a more high-brow chinchilla jacket!

